10 Years of Champions at the Masters Golf Tournament in Augusta

10 Years of Champions at the Masters Golf Tournament in Augusta

10 years master golf

The Masters Golf Tournament at Augusta, GA is entering its 78th year and is one of the four major championships in pro golfing. The Masters, which is always held at Augusta National Golf Club in Augusta, Georgia, is long regarded as one of the most prestigious events in pro golfing. From the green jacket to the ceremonial first tee, the Masters has a deep history with unrivaled traditions. But who will win the 78th Masters Tournament in 2014? Let’s take a look at the last 10 years of champions to get an idea.

10 years of golf champions at the Masters Tournament

2013 – Adam Scott

Adam Scott beat Angel Cabrera by birdieing the second hole of sudden death during the Masters 2013 in Augusta, GA. This was Scott’s first time winning the green jacket and rumor has it that he hasn’t taken it off since.

2012 – Bubba Watson

Bubba Watson won the 2012 Masters at Augusta by edging out Louis Oosthuizen during the second sudden death playoff hole—scoring his first green jacket and spot in the winner’s circle.

2011 – Charl Schwartzel

Charl Schwartzel had an epic win at Augusta. While this 2011 Masters Tournament was won by the South African Charl Schwartzel, the stand out story was about Rory McIlroy. So close, yet so far, McIlroy’s major championship dreams were swept away by a late play made by Schwartzel. This was also Charl’s first green jacket.

2010 – Phil Mickelson

Winning the 74th Masters Tournament in 2010, the lucky lefty Phil Mickelson won his third Masters and fourth major title—three shots ahead of runner-up Lee Westwood.

2009 – Angel Cabrera

Ángel Cabrera, age 39, pulled off his second major title win at Augusta in a playoff over Chad Campbell and Kenny Perry. This was Angel’s first green jacket, but he had come close to winning before as a runner up during the 2013 Masters tournament.

2008 – Trevor Immelman

During the 2008 Masters Tournament, Trevor Immelman won his only major title, three strokes ahead of runner-up and four-time champion Tiger Woods. It was quite the upset, and quite a scene at Augusta that year.

2007 – Zach Johnson

During the 2007 Masters Tournament, Zach Johnson won his only major championship. Zach pulled two strokes ahead of none other than Mr. Tiger Woods to seal the victory and attain his green jacket.

2006 – Phil Mickelson

In 2006, the Masters held its 70th tournament. Phil Mickelson—a golfer who had historically come so close to winning numerous times—won his second green jacket in three years. Phil Mickelson’s second Masters achievement was his third major championship in nine starts.

2005 – Tiger Woods

2005 was a huge year for Tiger Woods. During the 69th Masters Tournament, Tiger Woods defeated Chris DiMarco in a playoff to win his fourth green jacket.

2004 – Phil Mickelson

After sinking a putt on the 18th hole of the 2004 tournament, Phil Mickelson walked away with his first, long-awaited Masters’ victory.

2003 – Mike Weir

During the 2003 Masters Tournament, Mike Weir won his only major title in a one-hole playoff over Len Mattiace.

Interested in heading to Augusta? We still have ticket packages to the Masters Tournament available.

online poll by Opinion Stage

Around the Web